yarn love & podcast watching

A lot of yarn has made its way into my house this week! This is not a normal thing, though I sure wish it was. Buying this much yarn makes my heart hurt a little, I really don’t love spending money. Most of the yarn that I bought is for specific projects though, so I’m trying not to be too upset over it.

The minis are from Nikki Slipp’s etsy shop and are obviously for my sock yarn blanket. I’ve bought mini skeins from her many times and usually have a good amount left after knitting a square, so I’ll most likely be adding the same colors to my granny square blanket that I started.

yarn in the door this week

The two grey skeins are the yarn that I ordered to join my grannies, so I’m hoping to get started on that this weekend. They’re both Manos Del Uruguay Alegria in the Marshes colorway. I also bought another Alegria from my local shop in the Hurache colorway, its so colorful, I can’t wait to knit socks out of it. I bought two skeins of Madeline Tosh DK for no reason other than to bring an online order up to receive free shipping, they’ll find a use someday. The colorways I got are Calligraphy and Kelp.

new blanket colors

The rest of the yarn that I purchased this week are for a new crochet blanket I’m going to start. I’m going to be crocheting the Hexie Love Actually pattern. I already have two scrappy blankets, more than that if you look at my ravelry page (yikes), so I decided for this one I would try to use only a few colors. The colors above are what I’m using, my favorite flower is the sunflower so that’s how I chose my colors. I’m not sure if all the hexagons will be the same or if I’ll use a mix of three colored hexagons and solids. Before I can even really worry about that though, I need to wind all these skeins. I wind by hand, so it’s going to take a bit of time, I plan on watching quite a few podcasts while I wind.

A few podcasts I’m loving right now; all are video podcasts which are my favorite kind for knitting and crafting, I like being able to see what the podcaster is talking about. There are more podcasts that I love but I thought I’d share just a handful today.

  • Grocery Girls Podcast – this one is hosted by sisters, I kept hearing about them right after their first episode but put off watching until their third. When I finally watched, I binged hard! They’re so much fun to watch and they live only 6 hours from me, pretty cool to find more Canadian knitters that I wouldn’t hate meeting!
  • Hungry Cat Podcast – hosted by Jesse, I love her stories about her cat Bruce and that she shares reading reccomendations, I always love to add a book to my reading list.
  • Pinfeathers & Purls – hosted by Candace, another Canadian knitter! She’s in Calgary, another place not too far from where I live.

I could go on and on about these podcasts but I won’t, I don’t want to sound too much like a crazy person.

♥ Have a great rest of your day! ♥

One thought on “yarn love & podcast watching

Leave a Reply

