scrappy projects

I love a good scrappy project! I don’t know how I came to enjoy them so much, I wasn’t fond of the look of them for quite a long time. It’s just so satisfying to use up leftovers though, so much better than tossing them!

past scrappy projects:

scrappy

The top left blanket is still unfinished, it’s an all cotton blanket made from scraps from potholders and dishcloths that I used to crochet a lot of. It hasn’t been touched in probably a year, it hurts my hands to work on.

The top right granny square blanket was one I crocheted back in 2013 during the summer.

The bottom left was an effort to use up all of the acrylic yarn in my stash. I did a pretty good job, I ended up with a nice sized blanket and not too many leftovers.

I made a magic ball out of what I had left after crocheting the v-stitch blanket. I haven’t done anything with it yet but I will at some point!

scrap jellyfish

I also made a couple scrappy toys from yarn scraps. The jellyfish was the first one I crocheted, I wish it was still kicking around, I don’t know where it actually ended up. The pattern is from Fresh Stitches.

scrappy socks finished!

Scrappy socks are fun too, last year I knit up a pair using some leftovers from my cozy memories blanket (below). These knit up pretty quick, I loved the changing of yarns.  I know not everyone loves doing these because people love a matching pair but I’m totally fine with mismatched socks!

current scrappy WIPs:

DSC08579

Like a million other people, I’m knitting a cozy memories blanket. I started mine in 2014 using the Hue Shift Afghan pattern from Knit Picks. I use my scraps from socks, buy minis (mostly from Nikkislipp on etsy) and I have done some mini swaps. Sometimes the blanket sits for quite a long time not being touched and other times, it’s all I want to knit on. Right now I have 121 squares in my blanket, it’s a nice lap cover but I definitely want it bigger, so I’ll still be knitting on this for a long time yet.

IMG_20160426_091721

I also have started a Babette blanket using only sock scraps. I don’t work on it too much but I love how it looks already, so I definitely will get this finished some day.

DSC08682

The last scrappy WIP I have already going is a bunch of granny squares, I still haven’t found the right way to join them, so they’ve been sitting. Until I figure it out, I’ll just keep crocheting small granny squares that will eventually become something.

Even though I’ve made so many scrappy projects already and have enough WIPs, I’m dreaming of starting more. I fell in love with the Beekeeper’s Quilt when it was first released but I wasn’t confident I could learn to knit them. Now that I know I can knit, I’m seriously considering starting one. It will take years of course but my other scrappy WIPs are going to take just as long, so why not add another? We’ll see.

Thanks for reading today! ♥

5 thoughts on “scrappy projects

Leave a Reply

