My Yarn Story

I never really had any interest in learning to crochet or knit growing up. I remember my seeing my grandma crocheting blankets but I don’t think I ever asked to try it out. I did want to cross-stitch though and she helped me do a few stitches in a picture that now hangs in my parent’s home. I can’t remember how old I was but I never really stop cross stitching after that.

Sometime in 2008, I was browsing Pinterest and came across a granny square blanket that I fell instantly in love with. I bought some yarn and started googling ‘how to crochet‘. Most websites that I found said that you needed to start out with chaining and ‘sc’ stitches to really learn but that only frustrated me. I think I spent one day failing over and over at that and gave up for awhile. Eventually, I used all the yarn I bought to make my son who was a baby at the time a pom-pom mobile. I thought crochet just wasn’t for me (after ONE day haha).

I participated in some craft swap and received some cotton yarn, so I decided to give crochet one more shot. This time, I decided to just try crocheting a granny square since that is what I wanted to make, so I searched youtube for a video. My first granny square was not pretty but I crocheted it big enough so that my son, who was a baby at the time, could cuddle with it. He liked it, so I count it as a success.

granny square blanket

After that, I was definitely hooked on crochet! I crocheted more granny square blankets for other babies that were around then. I just wanted to keep learning.

Crochet was such an amazing discovery for me. Having three kids so young was pretty stressful and crochet was helping me relax a lot. I was still dealing with some scary depression then too, so it was helping me clear my head and I think may have been what helped me ultimately stop having so many anxiety attacks.

I’ve gone through a lot of different fazes in my crocheting lifetime, I would be pretty much obsessed with crocheting only one type of thing for months on end.

potholders…
potholdermosaic

blankets…
blanketmosaic

toys…
toymosaic

The more comfortable I got with crochet, the more I wanted to push myself. So, I eventually made up my own patterns. I shared most of them on my old, no longer updated blog, Plus 3 Crochet, they all still live there today. I haven’t designed or written anything in quite some time, I don’t know that I will share any patterns again but it’s always a possibility.

Eventually, I decided that I wanted to give knitting a try too. I knit a couple dishcloths and towels. But, I never truly got the knitting bug until I gave sock knitting a try. I was amazed by so many sock knitters and thought I would never be able to figure out how to knit socks myself until I made it a goal in 2014. I found a tutorial for toe up socks and just went for it. I felt addicted pretty instantly. Socks are such a relaxing knit.

sockmosaic

I don’t crochet as much as I used to now that I’ve really gotten into knitting but I’m trying to work it back into rotation because I’m finding that I’ve missed it. At some point I am sure I’ll find a happy balance.

So, that’s my yarn story! If you made it all the way to the end, thank you so much for reading! I really enjoyed looking back at everything I’ve made since starting my yarn adventures.

♥ Casey

18 thoughts on “My Yarn Story

  1. Pingback: happy things – knits & what-not

  2. This is truly inspiring, Casey! It’s very effective to show your projects grouped the way they are along with your story. The projects you’ve made are terrific. You are a beautiful knitter and crocheter, and I’m going to confess… your first set of pictures now have me wanting to crochet a collection of colorful potholders. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I learned to crochet when I was pregnant with my son (who is now 40!) I only did it for a year or so and pretty much gave it up. Back then there just weren’t many fun or interesting patterns to work with. Not long after that I took a knitting class but never got the hang of it. Fast forward to the spring of 2015! I decided to jump back in and try my hand at crochet again. It must be the passing of years or maybe becoming more patient (NOT my strong suit!) but my crochet confidence has soared and I’m very pleased with the results. I’m thinking now of taking a knitting class again after the first of the year. I’m going to retire in March so the timing is perfect. Excited and looking forward to Adventures in Yarn!!

    I’ve bookmarked your blog and plan to thoroughly explore all its goodies. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

