a birthday blanket

a blanket in 10 days? hopefully! 👍 #knittersofinstagram #knittersofig #blanket #birthdayblanket #craftastherapy #makersgonnamake #ourmakerlife

Last week was my son’s 8th birthday and I challenged myself to knit a complete blanket by it, only 10 days. Knitting on this blanket is the only project I worked on in those 10 days. The kids went back to school, so I had two full days of knitting without worrying about him seeing the blanket.

I'm not the most optimistic right now but I'm still knitting! They're the size of my hand, so pretty big! #knittersofinstagram #birthdayblanket #craftastherapy #makersgonnamake #ourmakerlife #craftastherapy_geometrical

this blanket is around half way done, maybe, almost too big to get a decent sneaky shot, without the recepient spotting it. My hand has rebelled a few times but I'm hoping to push through! Knitting feels so slow though, I wish the boy would have wanted a

I chose to knit mitered squares in a patchwork style. Earlier this year, my son had watched me knitting on my sock blanket and asked if that one was for him. After that, we started looking through ravelry at different blankets I could possibly knit for him. He did say he wanted one like my sock blanket and that it had to be knit. I of course procrastinated big time and thought something else might be out there. In the end and cutting it far too close, I decided on this.

not small squares! #knittersofinstagram #birthdayblanket #craftastherapy #makersgonnamake #ourmakerlife

I decided that the squares should be much bigger than my sock blanket, I thought the size would help me finish it faster. It felt like it took forever to knit, my hand hurt while doing it so often but I pushed through the pain and managed to finish in time! Well, pretty much. I thought the blanket should be one more row wider but it fits his bed, so I decided to give it to him and let him decide if he’d like it a little bigger.

loads of ends to weave in today but it's done(ish)! I feel like it could use one more row of squares but there's no way I can crank them out before tonight! I'm going to let the birthday boy decide if he'd like it bigger still before I add the final borde

He slept with it on his birthday and decided one more row would be okay. I haven’t started knitting it yet though because when I stopped knitting, my hand got much worse. I’ve been to the doctor and it’s definitely tendinitis again, so I’m resting my hand for awhile. Hopefully by next week, I can get started on the next row. I didn’t snag a “finished” shot yet but I will once it’s actually finished!

I stitched up a tag for the birthday blanket, I'm planning on doing these for all future blankets I make for the kids! #knittersofinstagram #birthdayblanket #craftastherapy #makersgonnamake #ourmakerlife

I stitched up a tag to sew onto the blanket also, I’ve thought about doing these for other blankets but have never actually done it. I’m planning on doing this for all future blankets I give my children. I think it’s a sweet idea, hopefully if they keep their blankets for years, they will too.

Have a great week!
♥ Casey

10 thoughts on “a birthday blanket

  1. Pingback: yarn along – knits & what-not

Leave a Reply

