george

The past weeks haven’t been the greatest around these parts. We have moved and that is great, the move went as well as it could with two kids down with the stomach flu. Made for an even more tiring day but we got through it and everyone is all healthy again thankfully.

You go out for an hour and he acts like you've been gone a week 😿 I don't mind how much he loves though πŸ’“ #georgethecat #catsofinstagram

About a week before we moved, weΒ gaveΒ up our cat George. It was a decision we fought against for months but ultimately it had to be done. My son has an allergy to cats, it was manageable and was only ever really an issue whenever he was sick but after last summer it became an issue for him all of the time. We decided that it was time for himΒ to go before we moved so that our son could move into a place free of animal hair. I can honestly say that we really tried to make it work, though some days I don’t believe it. It has been really rough, George was very attached to me and I was to him as well, he was my constant shadow, my baby, I miss him like crazy.

I haven’t been able to write about this before now, I wanted to but every time I sat to do it, I would lose it. All the people who say “it’s just a cat” would laugh at how well I’ve taken losing him. Ugh. Crappy times. I know it was for the best and one day I will be able to say that without crying.

.

11 thoughts on “george

  1. heartbreaking for you. I hope George went to a happy home, he seems such a nice fellow. Speaking from the other half of the equation – I twice have been the recipient of a cat that “had to go.” Both times, we settled in together, and they grew to love me and were happy. I am sure George will do the same with his new family.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. People who make comments like that obviously doesnt own a cat therefore would never understand the bond between you. I have 3 furbabies so I totally understand how you feel my lovely, I would be devastated too. Love and hugs to you, he will be grateful of the life you have given him and I’m sure he will be very happy xxx

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Did you give him away or have to put him down? I just put my 10 year old cat down last week due to bad health issues. It was best for him so he doesn’t have to suffer anymore but I do miss him like crazy as well. It gets easier with time.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

