reading recap (January – March)

I’m going to attempt to do these ‘reading recap‘ posts every month or two, I’ve been terrible at writing up reviews again on my goodreads account. Something I want to work on again and maybe a recap post will help me with that.

This year, I’ve set my reading challenge goal at 25 books on goodreads. I’ve read six books this year, one I only read half of but it still shows up towards my challenge annoyingly, I need to figure out a way to stop that.

The Girl Before by Rena Olson

This was my first read of 2017 and it was a good one, I read it entirely in one day, it was just too hard to put down. It’s not a slow paced book, you know what’s going on from the start and it’s quite disturbing. Loved this one, a great start to my book reading year.

The Couple Next Door by Shari Lapena

I had seen this book around quite a bit and it sounded like it would be a really good read, so I was happy when it finally showed up on my hold shelf at the library. I read more of this than I normally do before completely giving up on a book, I made it half way through but I just couldn’t deal with the writing anymore. The writing style reminded me of books I might have read as a tween.

Lost Souls by Kelley Armstrong

I was excited to read this one! One day I decided to check out Kelley Armstrong’s facebook page and found out about this one, I hadn’t heard anything about this one being out. I bought the e-book immediately and sped through it. This is another book from the Cainsville series, mainly about Gabriel and Patrick. Patrick brings Gabriel a fake case that ends up not so fake, so he can spend time with him, there’s a reason for that but if you haven’t read the books, I think it’s a bit of a spoiler. I really enjoyed it, it was a good read to hold one over during the wait for the next Cainsville book.

The Handmaid’s Tale by Margaret Atwood

I have seen that a lot of people read this one in high school, it was never a book that we read in school, so it wasn’t really on my radar I guess. A lot of people seem to be rereading this one again, so I noticed it and picked it up. This is a good one and I understand why it would be a book read in school.

The Bear by Claire Cameron

This was such an interesting book! It’s told from a five year old girl’s point of view and I think it was done really well, although some parts didn’t quite sound right. So much of this was intense to read, Anna (the five year old) wakes up on a camping trip and her parents are being killed by a bear. Terrifying. It’s really not that gory because she doesn’t really understand anything that’s happening around her. The book follows her trying to take care of her little brother while they wait for their parents. This was such an intense and sad book, I definitely recommend reading this one!

Commonwealth by Kim Patchett

I was at the library at the cover of this one caught my eye so I grabbed it without even really checking what it was about. This book follows two families that break up because of an affair. The book flies between family members through many years but it worked. I enjoyed this one a lot, it was written so well. I’ll be checking out more books by this author.

What books have you been enjoying this year so far? I’m always happy to get recommendations!

♥ Casey

2 thoughts on “reading recap (January – March)

Leave a Reply

