summertime

So, it’s summer. I’ve been keeping myself busy, mostly with the outdoors now that I’ve got an allergy medicine helping more, although I do pop an extra once in awhile. Being outside as much as I am really is a bit abnormal for me, I usually have to force myself to go outside for the kids sake but this year it’s where I want to be. I’m not sure how much posting I will be doing for the next couple months but I hope to pop in every so often. I love that I say that as though I post on a schedule haha

the annual ice cream cake aka my birthday cake! This year on my birthday πŸ˜„ always my favorite cake πŸ‘… ps. A happy birthday to my insta birthday pals @greenbeanbaby & @houseofalamode πŸ˜™πŸ˜™πŸŽ‰ #dqicecrea

I'm just so in love with crocheting this πŸ’— #crochetgirlgang #craftastherapy #vintagecrochet #popcornblanket #makersgonnamake

having a small break from all the hand projects thanks to pain 😐 blah! πŸ‘‡ here's a moose head that I finished last week and forgot to post! No pattern for him, he was a lot of fun to figure out as I crocheted. He's already gone to h

I don't think I've really cared much for Zodiac signs in my adult life but the cross stitch patterns from @craftnik are amazing! Cancer is my sign  #crossstitchersofinstagram #craftastherapy #satsumastreet

  • my birthday was June 29th, we had the usual ice cream cake! My favorite! Next time we may try the lactose free one so my oldest can enjoy it too. So, now I’m 34. Not a big deal, I thought I already was months ago when asked haha
  • I fell in love with a blanket on instagram and went on a search immediately for the pattern. I was relieved that it took no time at all to find it! The pattern is called Swedish Popcorn Bedspread (free). I tried a few different yarns to find the look that I wanted, the pattern is written for thread but that’s not what I want. I ended up buying a new yarn from Loops & Threads called Cambria. It works up so nice, it’s incredibly soft but doesn’t seem to fuzz much, I think it’s perfect for this blanket. The only issue with this yarn is that it’s strangely static-y when it comes off the ball, it’s not at all static-y in the finished hexagons though, so I’m sticking with the yarn. I do want to add a fringe at the end, so I will have to find another yarn for that.
  • My cousin had a baby recently and asked if I could crochet a moose head for her to mount in his nursery. I didn’t use a pattern, just figured him out as I crocheted. It took a couple tries to get the sizing right but I finally got it perfect. I think he turned out really adorable. After a great visit with the newest baby, the moose is now in his new home and I can’t wait to see him up on the wall!
  • I cross stitched! I don’t even remember the last time I started and finsihed a cross stitch project. I loved this pattern as soon as I saw it! I bought it right away and started the same day. Β When I was younger, I liked the zodiac signs but I haven’t cared or even thought about them in years. This pattern didn’t take me too long to stitch at all, I enjoyed it so much! I’m thinking of making one for everyone in the house now. Β You can find the pattern right here.

That’s all I have for now. I hope you’re out there enjoying your summer too!

β™₯ Casey

4 thoughts on “summertime

  1. I can’t remember so Hau’oli la hanau. Glad you had a good birthday. The moose head is so cute. I wonder if she’ll attach it to a wooden plaque in the nursery; that’d be so fun. The cross stitch is full of fun color, making it a neat design on how it appears to the eye.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Yummy bday cake. Happy 34th!

    That moose is perfect. Stef is right, putting it on a wooden plaque shaped board would be adorable.

    Lovely bedspread pattern. Looking forward to seeing your finished.

    The cross stitch is perfect eye candy. The colors really pop. I love jewel tones.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

